Maturity

30 01 2011

Dear world,
So my old friend Derrick has returned to the blogging scene with his come back post on his plans for his life. To be perfectly honest I thought he dropped off the face of the earth. But there was always one thing that interested me about Derrick and it was not that I am a hormonal teen looking for a boyfriend!
Derrick always had a greater sense of maturity than anyone else I have ever met! No adult or teen or kid has been able to show to me that they were as mature as Derrick. Sure some have come close but never really on par. Sometimes I wonder if Derrick is just a class of his own.
I am getting a head of myself. The topic up for discussion this week is maturity. And I just had a friend who turned 18 and he is becoming a real prick. Whoever said that when you turn 18 you come more mature did not meet my friend (obviously)!
I am turning 18 this year and I really do not want to change. Sometimes I wonder if being mature means going back to being a kid. And now you all are wondering how this is so.
As cliche as it may seem, kids are more peaceful people (however, with constant violence in video games and in entertainment, this might no longer be the case in a few years).
Maturity, I believe, is defined by seeing the world much differently than how other people view the world. It is this ‘skill’ that makes mature people like Derrick, well, mature! Sure, I am waiting to obtain the privileges that come with turning 18 (who isn’t?) but I do not just want to drink my life away.
Kids do see things differently. Most of them are open to everything new to them, and their sense of adventure and curiosity is high. They constantly come out with new ideas(which we eventually steal and make our own).
People define maturity as understand big concepts like law or planning your future well, but those have a lot of grey areas! But how do we understand the grey areas when we were taught right from wrong. The more mature people come up with seeing everything in a different way and not to weight and balance the grey areas.
This year I want to explore all possibilities in everything. I want to be a kid. I want to be mature.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

